Most societies has its homeless people. Some people think that the best way to help them is to give them money. To what extent do you agree?

The most effective way to support the increasing number of street dwellers in many nations is to offer them adequate monetary aid to buy basic necessities. In my opinion, I disagree with the above statement as it is not beneficial to the homeless individuals.

To begin with, providing money to homeless individuals is not a proper solution as it does not address the factors that cause poverty among them in the first place. Firstly, these people living on streets do not have the basic needs to support themselves like food, clothes, shelter, etc. Thus, the government can help the destitute people by taking initiatives such as building community shelters. In addition to that, we could offer them skill training to enable them to make at least a marginal income to become independent. For example, small-scale industries like paper bag making or craft making are found to be effective in doing so.

Furthermore, the method of allocating fiscal aid to alleviate the problem could actually have the possibility of increasing the rate of homelessness. This is because these financial resources could be misused by some people. For instance, many of them living on streets are addicted to alcohol and drugs and they might use the money to buy illegal products. Besides that, corrupt individuals among government officials could exploit the funds by using it for their personal interests. As a result, we cannot achieve the desired outcome of saving the poor people from their hardships.

In conclusion, I believe it is not useful to give money to people dwelling on streets as it is only a temporary relief to such people and it could have the possibility of increasing the number of homeless people in the country.