Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The number of multinational companies is growing in developing countries. While there are some drawbacks associated with the prevalence of these companies, I believe that the main benefits are more substantial.

On the on hand, a potential disadvantage of companies recruiting employees from different nations may be associated with the consequences of increase in population, such as air pollution. Since most developing countries are prone to overpopulation, migration from other nations in search of job opportunities may exacerbate the situation. Furthermore, these countries often lack adequate infrastructure such as roads, public transport and educational centers, to cope with the effects of population growth. Another perceived negative is increased local unemployment rate among the youth. Employers often prefer to recruit immigrants because they are more likely to work for lower salaries. As a result, local inhabitants may struggle to find a decent job.

On the other hand, a primary advantage of multinational companies is their potential to play a vital role in industrial development. They offer a wide variety of skills and professions from different nations, which can boost the efficiency of industrial performance. A further benefit is the creation of cultural diversity, which allows city residents to learn how to live together despite differences in customs, habits, and mindsets. In addition, it enriches their cultural structure; for example, when a multinational workforce celebrates a cultural festival, the local community becomes familiar with that country’s customs and music.

On balance, it is true that prevalence of multinational companies in developing countries may seem disadvantageous under certain circumstances. However, its advantages in terms of industrial improvement and cultural enhancement override the disadvantages.