Natural resources such as water, forests and oil, are being used at an excessive rate. What is the main cause of this problem? How can this issue be solved?

The planet’s resources are being consumed at an alarming pace. The primary reason of this phenomenon is the wasteful lifestyle of many in developed countries, specifically those in the West and the most viable answer is to educate their young generation about this issue.

Countries in North America and Europe have a culture of waste and overconsumption. That is to say that their living style involves using a great amount of natural resources for transport, food and leisure. As a result, a huge amount of energy is consumed in the petrol in cars and fossil fuel in electric generation. Many have become so used to this type of luxury that it is very difficult for them to contemplate a life without modern conveniences. For example, the most popular car in the United States is the SUV, which has the lowest fuel efficiency compared to other types and it is not unusual for a European family to have a TV in every room, along with many electrical appliances.

A long-term solution to this predicament is to educate young people about the dangers of consuming resources excessively. Children can be taught about how to conserve energy and recycle so the next generation will act more responsibly. With knowledge about resource preservation, they can teach their own parents so that adults can also be influenced by this initiative. For example, school children in Germany were taught about the importance of recycling and green energy and now they have one of the highest rates of recycling and renewable energy in the world.

In conclusion, the planet is being depleted at a staggering rate because Western citizens consume more than their fair share of energy and their children must be taught that conservation is the most feasible answer to tackle this problem.