New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantage?

In this day and age, high-tech devices have influenced the way children spend their free time. Although this trend has some benefits, I believe that it is totally negative.

On the one hand, when exposing to such devices, children can expand their knowledge. The internet is a source of information, such as historical videos, children can therefore watch these clips in their spare time to understand more about history. This, in turn, gives them valuable insights into the world, such as the culture or development of several nations. Additionally, using technologies can stimulate children’s creativity and curiousness. Children have to explore electronic devices’ features, such as mobile phones or laptops, by themselves to be proficient in using them.

On the other hand, it is inevitable that children can be exposed to negative contents on the internet. These contents can affect the children’s development, as they are too young to understand consequences they may bring. This results in deviation in thinking, negatively influencing their behaviour and actions. For instance, Blue Whale challenge, a popular trend in the Internet emerged in 2017, which forced players to participate in a series of extreme activities and ending with committing suicide. As a result, some children became the victims of this challenge, who comitted suicide and some were diagnosed with mental disorder.

In conclusion, albeit merits, technologies bring numerous disadvantages to children, which can be observed through activities that harm themselves. Therefore, children must be supervised strictly in the way they use technologies, so that parents can fully exploit their potential.