News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news, and would it be better if more good news was reported

Over the centuries, newspapers and television are the power source of delivering news, and editors play a vital role in finalising the final version of the news that appears on the paper and screen. There are many parameters that affects the selection and this essay will discuss the reasons for creating negative news and the importance of emphasising positive news as well.

There are obvious reasons why the editors select bad news. Firstly, they consider the viewer’s interests as a top priority. To illustrate further, rape-news, crime-related and news of personal affairs are gaining more publicity than the news of economic growth and success stories. Secondly, the priority of the news is depending upon the severity and criticality. For instance, they will kick-off morning with the political news, and close the night by delivering entertainment stuff.

However, negative stories are not beneficial for the society in many ways. Mainly, people become what they see and they find negative stories are entertaining as they exaggerate the crimes to make it interesting. For example, a positive input can help to improve the thinking of individual and lead to national development. Moreover, good news can reduce the distress and criminal activity. This can explain by the group test done by psychologists in UK, the group which received good signals to their brains are more likely to maintain peace in the surrounding than people who received the bad signals.

In conclusion, reporting has a major role in what people get to know. In order to maintain peace in society, positive news should be preferred. While reporters want to get maximum profit out of their reporting, the impact on society should not be neglected.