News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

The topic of visualization has stimulated considerable discussions in contemporary society. Events communicated on television and newspapers usually include graphics and some school of thought are of the view that images has a stronger impact than words. I strongly agree with this notion as they are easily understood and useful for people unable to read.

Firstly, passing information with the use of diagrams facilitates seamless comprehension. In other words, when individuals sight a picture conveying a particular meaning, they tend to assimilate faster than the use of a couple sentences. Moreso, it saves the amount of time required for them to be made enlightened of the scenario being transmitted. To illustrate, the University of Nexford in Juxembourg carried out an experiment in 2005 displaying images and words conveying the same meaning to several participants. The result showed that all candidates were able to figure out the event painted faster through the image. Hence, the use of pictures is a quick means of communication.

Secondly, illiterates can make sense of an occurrence by virtue of visualization. In recent times, majority of the population are not able to understand written words because of the high amount of fees required by schools. A prime example is an event conducted by a charity organization in my area where volunteers made use of drawings to tell several children and adults a particular story. The expression on their faces indicates that they understood perfectly. Therefore, graphic is a vital and effective tool for passing information.

To conclude, channels of information includes pictures in order to help with understanding and to assist those less privileged to learning how to read