Nowadays, a lot of buildings, such as offices and schools, are now being built with an open plan design. Why is that? Do you see this as a positive or negative development?

Open-plan spaces have become one of the most popular ways of organizing environments in which children study and employees work. This essay will first suggest that the main reasons for this trend are the flexibility of the space and the efficient use of available area and will then discuss the major drawbacks, including constant background noise and the lack of personal space.

A key factor behind this trend is the ability to quickly adapt the space of schools and offices according to current demands. Modern education requires spaces with special zones that offer a number of benefits and specific equipment for studying a wide range of subjects. As a result, open-plan design makes it easy to reorganize the space for all types of activities, including debates, drawing and dancing. Consequently, it leads to the efficient use of available space within organisations.

However, working and studying in open-plan environments can face several serious problems. The absence of walls in educational and office space can lead to constant background noise. As a result, workers and students can suffer from a reduction in concentration which can negatively affect productivity. In addition, background noise can lead to nervousness and anger, that can contribute to the damage social relationships. Another significant issue is the lack of privacy. Employees and students can feel uncomfortable and stressed due to the absence of personal space in schools and offices. Therefore, they face difficulty in focusing on individual tasks.

To conclude, the open-plan design of schools and offices has become widespread because of the flexibility of educational and work environments and the efficient use of space. Nevertheless, this design approach has several problems including constant background noise and the lack of privacy.