Nowadays, a lot of people in college are doing academic study. We should encourage them to learn vocational skill ( like plumbers and electricians) Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that at present, many college students are completing academic studies, we must encourage them to learn skills like plumbing, electronics works, and so on. While some people neglect these works or skills, I completely agree with this statement.

Most importantly, there are a variety of reasons why I agree that we should encourage students to learn vocational skills. One possible reason is that vocational skills help to be self-employed. Actually, there are many graduates who are unemployed, in spite of completing graduations from well-known colleges because they don’t have proper skills. Therefore, if anyone learn any vocational skill, he or she will be able to work independently unless get any job. For example, many students are learning vocational works and working as part time jobs so that they can manage their pocket money. Another possible reason is that if anyone learn these works, he or she can fix plumbing or electronics problems at home. Basically, electronics and plumbing problems are common problems in every home and when we face these problems, we call plumbers or electricians and have to pay a good amount of money as their fees. In order to reduce these costs, every student should learn at least one vocational skill. In addition, I think that every school or college should run vocational courses beside academic courses.

Moreover, safety is another key reason of learning skill like plumbers and electricians. In our daily life, we use electricity for different reasons; however, if we don’t know basic things about electricity, we can fall in big trouble provided that we make any mistake. That’s why, we should insist our younger brothers, sisters, and children in order that they learn vocational works. Finally, it is an era of technology and almost every work is done online using internet, computers, and smart devices. In order to get a good job, every student should learn some IT skills, and it is also a vocational skill.

In conclusion, although these vocational skills are neglected by many people, these skills are really helpful for our personal and professional lives. Therefore, we should encourage students to learn these skills and the governments should run some free vocational courses so that students can learn easily.