Nowadays, children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some think that these activities are not beneficial for a child's mental health.

In this modern world, children prefer to entertain theirselves a lot with online or electronic activities, think about gaming or watching television. But, some people agree that these activities do not benefit the mental health of young people. In this essay I will explain why I think in certain quantities it is harmfull, but as long as you dose it, it can have advantages.

Too much is negative, that counts for everthing, and so does it for watching TV and playing games. It is well known that staring for too long to a LCD screen is bad for your eyes, but also regarding mental health it has a lot of negative effects. Researchers claim that it can stimulate depression, social incapability and various of other mental disorders. This results into even more watching TV and computering, since people with these problems are searching for a way of feeling better, which is temporary done by these activities, since they release chemicals in the human body which give the feeling of happiness.

On the other hand, playing video games and watching TV, do have advantages, if these activities are being done with moderation. Your brain keeps being active at times that you usually would not be, while it helps a person relax at the same time. Besides, it can improve your language skills, communication skills with others (regarding to for example teamwork or negotiation) and memory. As long as you do it in modaration, it can help a person being happier and more relaxed.

In conclusion, watching television and playing videogames, can be harmfull for the mental health when doing it too often. However, when you dose these activities, it can be a nice way to relax. In addition, it improves many social and mental skills what develops a person in a positive way. That is why this essay disagrees with the fact that watching TV and playing games is not beneficial for children’s mental health.