Nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time being active or creative. What is the reason for this? What measures should be taken to encourage children to be more active?

In today’s digital age, children have a greater tendency to watch TV than ever before, and they are spending significantly less time on physical and mental activities. There are a plethora of reasons that can cause this kind struggle, but there are also some ways to encourage children to be more active.

Firstly, the growth of television viewing among children can be a prominent and troublesome issue for society. On the other hand there are some reasons that cannot be denied. For example, parental influence and lack of access to play areas. Nowadays, many parents are busy, and their lives are crammed with a blend of work issues and other kinds of life problems. In this challenging moment, they use television as a convenient way to keep their children occupied. Similarly, in present days, there are not enough safe and suitable places such as playgrounds or parks. This can be very harmful to children’s health. If government or society ignores this issue, parents will not restrain themselves from neglecting television for their children.

In addition, today, children have a greater pre-existing passion for TV than other activities, this reason they overlook being active in physical and mental areas. In this challenging situation, parents, educators and health professionals have a greater responsibility than others. To solve this tenuous angle, parents ought to implement some restrictions for their children and be more creative. For example, they should limit screen time in their children’s daily lives and set aside at least around 3 hours for doing mental or physical activities. Another solution is that they should instill a newfound passion for useful activities in their children’s minds through their creativity.

In conclusion, while the rise in television viewing among children, not only parents but also government, through certain measures, are responsible for making restrictions on TV and promoting both physical and mental well-being.