Nowadays it is easier for young people to have credit cards compared to past. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh disadvantage

These days, it is becoming more widespread among the young generation to have credit cards in comparison to the past. While this trend offers various advantages, such as financial independence and convenience, it can lead to several risks, including uncontrolled purchases, the threat of fraud and money mismanagement.

On the one hand, credit card owners have a pleasant opportunity to enjoy life beyond their financial means. This instrument enables individuals to buy what they want, regardless of the lack of their current income or the format of the store, whether online or offline. Moreover, obtaining a credit card at early age provides budgeting skills and a sense of responsibility, which are likely to be extremely important in the future.

Having said that, it is undeniable that the usage of credit cards contributes to certain disadvantages. Firstly, the majority of young people still do not realize the value of money because it is digital rather than real. Unfortunately, this leads to irreversible consequences in the form of debts and overspending. Not only that, teenagers are also easier to deceive and involve in fraudulent operations. For instance, recently the number of scammers using young people for their own benefit has increased alarmingly. Therefore, such incidents call the security of digital financial instruments into question.

To sum up, although there is no doubt there are some profits associated with credit card ownership, I believe that these financial tools are likely to imperil most young individuals with accumulated debts and various fees. In order to avoid possible drawbacks, young people should be informed by proper guidance before applying for a credit card.