Nowadays, it is getting difficult for people to enjoy their lives in cities. Why do you think this is? What can the government do to make life in cities more enjoyable?

In modern days, individuals have trouble having fun in urban areas compared to previous years. While there are burning problems associated with a lack of enough natural areas and pollution levels of air and noise whereas solutions are easier than people might think.

To begin with, the number of people who live in the urban are increasing more than the number of buildings and skyscrapers which leads to most areas of the city being allocated for construction purposes, and it leaves small areas for green zones. For example, most city livers spend 8 boring hours at work and some of them want to use their own leisure time for relaxing in nature. However, lack of the number of parks and natural reserves, mostly they spend their time watching TV, scrolling videos, and reading news on social media all of which make their lives repeated and uninterested. Another factor is that air and noise pollution keep city dwellers from enjoying their lives. More people use private cars in metropolitan areas in resulting air and noise pollution. These contaminations negatively affect the physical and mental health of citizens and their quality of life.

Nonetheless, there are several solutions that the government uses to alleviate these problems. First, despite limited usable areas which are mostly used for building, government can utilize land more efficiently. Unsuitable areas can be turned into parks, and forests with the correct management process such as planting trees and proper irrigation rather than keeping it useless. Secondly, the state can increase incentives for using electric vehicles to reduce contamination levels. For instance, it may be reducing customs duty for buying this type of car. In addition, the government might apply a specific penalty for cars which emit more pollution or for reducing noise levels, it can prepare a special schedule for cars that make a lot of noise due to the hours of entry and exit to the city.

In conclusion, while these may have become common problems in many cities, the government should use empty and useless areas in a more productive way and implement legislation concerned with car usage to make the lives of cities better.