Nowadays, many people change jobs quite regularly, rather than working in the one company for their entire careers. Why do you think this is happening? How can companies keep their workers?

Currently, employees are frequently changing jobs rather than staying employed by a single company. This is a worrying trend that started to occur in the past decade and has led to a decline in productivity by a multitude of companies who rely on a stable work force. A brief overview of why this sudden change in employee preferences is happening and how companies can resolve them to retain their workers is discussed in this essay.

Companies have prioritized profits over employee satisfaction and career advancement in recent years. Subsequently, workers are left feeling unsatisfied and are forced to seek other job opportunities or even work multiple jobs to make ends meet. In addition, the traditional career advancement plan, which was used previously by companies to incentivize their staff, have now fallen out of favor, leaving their employees to loose interest in their jobs and decrease productivity. For example, In September 15, 2020, 500 employees of TESLA quit their jobs in response to the harsh working conditions, Five months later, Auto-workers through out the united-states quit their jobs, went on strike, and demanded reforms in the work place. Therefore, the callousness of companies towards their workers working conditions, in order to maximize profits, and the lack of a viable career advancement plan for employees, are the pivotal factors leading to the current trend of workers leaving their jobs.

Companies can retain their workers by improving their working hours, increasing the minimum wage, and provision of safety equipment and work safety protocols. In addition, providing their workers with a clear and viable career advancement plan is a tried-and-true method that has been proven in the past by companies to retain much of their workforce in the long term. So, companies need to focus on improving the workplace environment and also show their workers that they can ascend within the company hierarchy if they stay employed and productive.

In general,companies prioritizing profits at all costs in recent years have led to employees abandoning their jobs and a decreased employment of workers by companies in the long term. Therefore, it’s imperative that companies improve the working conditions and provide their workers with a clear career advancement plan in order to retain their workforce and remain productive in the long term.