nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. what problems can lack of sleep cause? whatcan be done about lack of sleep?

Nowadays, there is a inclination that people do not obtain adequate sleep compared to the past, and this resulting on human’s health reduction significantly, and eventually leads to the various of illnesses. In this essay, I will explain the trigger of this phenomenon and sensible solutions to solve this problem.

To begin with, the market job is more competitive than ever before, and employees work so hard, sometimes until midnight to achieve their employer’s target, and this leads to a reduction on number of hours they spend on sleep. For example, the employees in Ernst and Young work until 2 p.m. to complete the audit process. As a result, they only sleep for 5 hours and this risks their physical and mental health, mainly diseases such as heart attack and impairment of kidneys function. Furthermore, stress due to pressure of worse financial condition also contribute to the insufficiency of time they spend to rest in the bed, and they are more vulnerable to a harmful chronic insomnia because their focus is distracted significantly.

To address this problem, promoting a work-life balance is essential to improve sleep quality, and no overtime allowed. For example, in Australia, the government limits working hours maximum to 40 hours per week. Moreover, reducing screen times on smartphones and replace this activity with carrying out physical sports such as jogging or gym also crucial because it will alleviate stress, and eventually lead to a sufficient sleep.

In conclusion, I contend that a long working hours and stress are main contributor to the sleep deprivation. However, I believe that promoting work-life balance and taking physical activities is useful to enhance sleep quality.