Nowadays, more and more children play computer games. Why do you think this is the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Many adults now enjoy playing computer games during their free time. In my opinion, this is a result of developments in mobile technology and is decidedly negative since computer games encourage passivity.

The main reason children play digital games is that these games are built in a way that they do not require any physical effort and youngsters become addicted to playing them. Due to this reason, they spend an enormous amount of time in front of the screen. Also, in this modern era, parents have a hectic schedule in looth personal and professional life, and hence, they cannot pay much attention to their children. As a result, they try to provide them with all the facilities and gadgets under one roof but restrict outdoor activities. Moreover, children spend 6 to 7 hours in school and extra tuition for 1 to 2 hours, and thus when they get a meagre amount of time, they are inclined towards playing games on their electronic devices rather than going out. Finally, playgrounds are significantly fewer nowadays, and sometimes children have to travel a lot to reach the same.

Regardless, engaging in electronic games extensively is a recusant development because there are umpteen health concerns incidental to playing computer games. For example, youngsters tend to stare at screens for hours while playing games, which weakens their eyesight and results in diseases related to obesity, such as bad cholesterol. It also adds to the disruption in their social communication, especially in making new friends. Moreover, it tends to affect mental health too.

To conclude, video games might keep children engaged for hours on end, but they do not help the overall development of children. So I firmly believe that spending too much time playing computer games can be harmful for the upcoming generation.