Nowadays, more and more jobs and tasks which involve hard physical work are done by machines. Do the positive of this trend outweigh the negative effects?

In recent times, the increasing sophistication of machines enables them to do more jobs and tasks involving physical hard work. While there are undeniable drawbacks, this essay will argue that the benefits are far more significant.

On the one hand, there are several disadvantages that can be obtained from using machines to replace humans’ work. One major disadvantage is the rise of the unemployment rate. As machines have taken some particular jobs, those people who used to do those jobs can be unemployed, which is a significant problem for societies’ stability. Additionally, it can be costly to fix those specialized machines. As they are machines , there will possibly be some time that they malfunction. Since only skilled people have the ability to help with their maintenance, hiring them may cost a high price.

However, I am convinced that the aforementioned drawbacks fade into insignificance when compared to the notable benefits of the use of machines. Chief among these is that they are safer than human workers. Some hard physical work usually requires proper training for human workers to avoid accidents, however, there can be some unfortunate cases. Therefore, using machines is a good way to reduce the risk of accidents. Furthermore, machines have higher productivity than humans. Unlike humans, they can work continuously without any breaks, leading to an increased productivity and time efficiency.

In conclusion, despite certain drawbacks that using machines can bring about, including the rise in unemployment rate and in cost, I would contend that the merits are far more pronounced.