Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment compete with the younger people for the same jobs. What problems this causes? What are solutions?

Today, the number of older people, who tend to compete with young people for the same job in order to reduce the economic burden caused by maintaining living standards, is increasing. This decision makes serious complications, and some measures must be taken to solve it.

To begin with, competition among job seekers of different age groups could cause many problems. Firstly, the unemployment rate among young university graduates will increase. Younger colleagues may be subject to discriminatory behavior in a hiring process that hires on the basis of age and experience. This situation puts them at a disadvantage compared to experienced worker. Therefore, they have to struggle with experienced workers in order to secure a job and it seems unlikely that they have any chance of obtaining a position. Secondly, older candidates feel increased pressure due to current job market demands based on qualifications and abilities. In order to stay in the labor market, it is important to fill vacancies with younger workers, who have received recent training and have adapted to new technologies or trends, instead of older workers less productive and need to update their skills. In addition, employers prefer to invest in the first group because of their productivity and willingness to work longer hours to reduce the additional costs associated with older workers who are nearing retirement and tend to have higher healthcare costs.

However, there are a number of actions that could be taken to tackle the problem. Firstly, offering retirement planning and preparing older applicants for the future can create a situation that reduces the economic pressure on older workers to exit the labor market. strengthening and enforcing laws against discriminatory behavior to create a fair assessment and allow all candidates to remain competitive. This mutually beneficial environment, where a balanced mix of younger and older employees work together and share experience and knowledge, leads to workers of all ages can thrive.

In conclusion, this issue can lead to discriminatory behavior toward both young and old workers, and stereotypes about the age and quality of workers should be reduced through policies that promote age diversity.