Nowadays, more and more people are moving from small town and rural areas to big cities. Do the benefits of this population shift outwiegh its disadvantages?

The phenomenon of rural-to-urban migration becomes increasingly popular in many countries for living and working. I think people hope to have the prospect of better employment and life in mega-cities. In my opinion, this trend has both positive and negative aspects but the benefits seem to outweigh the drawbacks.

Having a better life is one of the reasons for people to move to big cities. The large companies attract more investments and jobs from other large international companies, so they will create more job opportunities with extremely high salaries, far surpassing that in rural areas. Therefore, dwellers’ income also significantly increases enough to cover their personal and family expenses, and improve their life standards.

According the positive sides of this trend, the development of massive urban centers is an engine of economic growth. Migrants move to mega-cities with the purpose of earning more money than in their hometown, so they try to work for themself and companies, increasing income with the abundance of employee resources. Additionally, residents use state-of-the-art infrastructures. The government improves and builds more public services to respond to people’ s living by taking advantage of the amount of capital from economic growth.

On the other hand, when an influx of urban dwellers happens, it impacts on the quality of residents’ lives. The demand of using vehicles more and more as the growth of migration leads to emissions taking a heavy toll on residents’well-being. Additionally, people face an acute shortage of affordable housing, so they have to find housing with a bad living environment and reduce their living standards to alleviate the financial burden.

In conclusion, sprawling metropolises act as a primary magnet for people who find jobs and enhance their life. Although an influx of urban dwellers brings about the benefits of the economy and living needs, the issues regarding reducing the quality of life are more significant. It is recommended that governments should have a management system about an unprecedented rural-to-urban migration to ensure sustainable urban development.