Nowadays more and more people have to compete with young people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are some possible solutions?

It is argued that there is an increase in the number of people who have to compete with young candidates for a particular job position. This situation results in an increase in competition and difficulties for senior candidates in securing a job. A viable solution for this is a continuous effort by older people to improve their skills for a job.

There is a significant increase in young people applying for the same job as experienced professionals, which results in older people facing more challenges to get a job. Additionally, most jobs today are evolving with technology, and the younger generation is more comfortable and familiar with these advancements. For example, many companies are switching to AI, and looking for candidates who are familiar with it, which mainly includes young people; therefore, this is a disadvantage for experienced people.

In general, the older generation has good experience in their work industry, and thus keeping themselves updated with the advancements of technology is a possible solution to this problem. Moreover, ongoing personal growth by acquiring new skills can facilitate them in reaching their professional development. For instance, the senior employees in my company have years of experience in management, and it is easier for them to improve their professional value by updating themselves with time. It makes them ideal job candidates, and reduces the competition.

In conclusion, older people face an incline in job competition, and often find it challenging to get a job, particularly caused by an increase in people from various age groups applying for the same job. However, a vital solution to this issue is that they can increase their professional value by continuously upskilling.