Nowadays more and more people have to compete with young people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are some possible solutions?

It is argued that many people are competing with young individuals for the same job position. The main problems of this are reducing candidates’ confidence and offering low salaries to workers. Some viable solutions are choosing the candidate based on their work experience and let Government decide the average salary range of a role.

Young generation is competing with the older one for the same role at companies, both older generation has low confidene. This is because many people have a lot more work experience than a young worker, but they still have to compete with them to get the same job. This makes them doubt their skills. Furthermore, companies are benefitting from this competition as they are choosing the candidate that accepts low salary. Companies are always looking to cut down cost to increase their profits and this competition allows them to do that. For example, Microsoft fired 40% of their senior staff as they found candidates that were willing to work at a lower pay.

The competition can be decreased if a candidate is hired on the basis of their skills. Age is just a number and workers who have the right skills should be selected. An organization will benefit if their worker is doing the job well and generating revenue. Another solution is that Goverment should release an ideal salary range for all jobs and companies should be obliged to pay within that range. As a result, candidates can get a fair job offer and not be forced to accept lower pay. For example, in India, Government released a book with average salaries for all the roles and candidates were able to negotiate salaries with their employers.

In conclusion, competition between young and old workers minimizes confidence and companies benefits by offering lower salaries, but selecting candidate based on their skills and government intervention can be viable solutions.