Nowadays more and more people want to get things done instantly (services, information, tasks). Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In contemporary society, an increasing number of individuals are prioritizing swiftness in their actions and reactions. The advent of new technology has undoubtedly expedited our way of life, yet in my view, it has primarily engendered a vicious cycle of crimes and chronic illnesses. In this essay, I will delve into this concept in great detail.

The unparalleled advancement of communication and automation technology has significantly hastened and facilitated our lives. Regardless of the distance between individuals, they can easily establish real-time audio-visual contact, participate in online live events, and stay up-to-date with various activities around the world. Automation technology is another ground-breaking innovation that has transformed our daily lives into a more enjoyable experience that was once beyond our imagination. For example, washing machines, electronic cookware, refrigerators, air conditioning systems, home theatres, and entry-exit systems for vehicles or buildings can all function with just a push of a button, a finger touch, or even a voice code.

However, this revolutionary development is also blamed for fostering dreadful cybercrimes and promoting a sedentary lifestyle prone to chronic diseases. Through digital platforms such as the internet or mobile phones, cybercriminals can attack individuals by sending hurtful text messages, using unauthorized photos or videos, and spreading rumours via social media. A 15-year longitudinal study indicates that excessive dependency on automation has led many people to become physically inactive, doubling the risk of obesity, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, depression, and more. Therefore, the fast and automatic lifestyle has brought an incredible pace at the expense of health and safety.

In conclusion, although the fast-paced lifestyle has brought our daily lives a rhythm of speed and comfort, it has also been accused of inviting severe cybercrimes and a sedentary lifestyle prone to chronic illnesses. Hence, considering all factors, I firmly believe that this quick responsive lifestyle is, on balance, a negative development.