Nowadays, more people move away from their friends and families for work. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

As our world is becoming increasingly globalized, individuals are now more willing and able to find employment far from their birthplaces. Although this trend has several drawbacks, I believe the advantages of this are far greater.

Several downsides associated with the mobility of labor are clear. First and foremost, it can be a cause of separation of family and friends. People who move for work may not be able to visit their family members often. Consequently, strong friendships can also fade when friends cannot see each other due to travel distances. Another pivotal reason is that local companies can struggle to find employees if all youngsters prefer to relocate overseas for better careers. For example, some Asian countries are facing hardships in arranging doctors and engineers in their local companies. Therefore, the adverse impacts of this phenomenon cannot be ignored.

On the other hand, there is a myriad of benefits of working away from home. To begin with, people can find better job opportunities outside their hometown with high salaries and future promotions. Subsequently, they can financially aid their families with money. For instance, overseas workers in Western nations send money to their families back for their survival. Moreover, youngsters can acquire new skills and knowledge when they work with new people and different strategies. It is not only beneficial but also necessary. So, the benefits of working away from home are great.

To conclude, I reiterate that although the mobility of the workforce has some disadvantages, the advantages are more significant.