Nowadays, more people move away from their friends and families for work. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

Living far from relatives has become a common choice among the majority of people in various countries. Despite potential emotional breakdown and financial challenges, individuals residing in distant places could promote independent living and career paths which is decidedly positive.

Those staying in a different city should be aware of the lack of emotional support from family. If they encounter adverse events, the family is not present to exchange confidences, leading to experiencing mental illness overtime. A good example of this is that overseas students are prone to suffer from depression as having no companion to confide in. Another disadvantage of this is financial difficulties. The monthly expenditure on accommodation, commuting and restaurants generally leaves them no money for personal pursuits and thus, they have to work overtime for additional income. For instance, many international students in America have to work part-time to cover daily expenses due to the high costs of living.

However, an autonomous life in other places cultivates a sense of self-reliance. Those people have to learn to do housework and allocate money properly on their own, developing capacity for autonomy and financial management. This level of independence is best illustrated through most overseas students knowing how to prepare a typical meal and doing laundry. Also, this relocation is conducive to a successful career. There are more job opportunities in developed countries, where they could gain valuable insights from experienced employees to be advanced at work. For example, workers are likely to get promotion in domestic enterprises after working in America.

In conclusion, although individuals relocating away from families might pose financial concerns and mental disorders, this practice typically plays an integral role in self-development which is positive overall. Individuals should prepare for these challenges before moving away.