Nowadays, more people travel abroad for tourism than ever before.Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, more people visit foreign countries as tourists than ever before. I believe that this tendency is highly positive since it develops new bonds between different cultures as well as improves countries’ tourism economy.

To begin with, the increasing rate of tourism leads to everyday cultural exchange between tourists and native people. Exploring a foreign state allows people not only to learn about this country’s traditions and locals, but also to share their own cultural heritage. Thanks to this process, both travelers and hosts become more open-minded, diverse and gain valuable knowledge through communication with differently grown individuals. As a result, people implement life-changing features in their home countries after travelling or hosting a foreigner. For example, my exchange year in the USA opened a topic of environmental issues for me, that is why I started running eco-preserving projects back in Kazakhstan. Therefore, travelling abroad implies building strong connections between two cultures which allows us to have positive changes overall.

Secondly, when a country has many foreign visitors, it definitely improves its tourism economy. Hosting many travelers year to year brings businesses a lot of money, as they provide such services like hotels, car hiring, tours and guides, etc. Subsequently, bills that are paid by those businesses and visitors increase significantly. This means that a government receives a great amount of funding from other countries rather than spending the money of their own residents. As a result, attracting more tourists has an impact on enhancing the overall economy and financial condition of the country and its local people.

To conclude, I am convinced that the growing number of people who travel has a positive impact. While it allows people to build strong relationships and share their cultures, it also improves the economical situation in countries that host a lot of foreigners.