Nowadays, most children prefer to spend several hours playing with electronic devices over doing more traditional leisure activities. What problem does this cause? What do you think are possible solutions?

Many people think that children should spend more time on traditional leisure activities rather than playing with gadgets. Spending an excessive amount of time playing with electronic devices instead of doing other more traditional and useful activities can trigger a number of serious issues which could be resolved by taking several essential steps.

One of the dilemmas of wasting a great amount of time playing with contemporary devices is that it can drastically diminish children’s performance. For example, children might find it arduous to concentrate on their studies. Therefore, it can also contribute to decline in their grades at school. Furthermore, it could adversely affect their health, causing eyesight problems and damaging the nervous system. For instance, provided that a child is playing a game or simply wasting their time after school in the evening with a particular electronic device, they will have difficulties in sleeping because of the time spent behind the screen.

One of the solutions to this predicament is to start teaching children traditional games and activities from the early ages and encourage them to proceed doing them. For example, games and activities such as chess and reading books, respectively. Another way to figure out this issue is to make children aware of the negative impacts of spending too much time with electronic devices. For instance, children can have several lessons annually related to the consequences of the excessive use of technology. As a result, children would acknowledge the adverse effects of technology on humans and reduce the amount of time spent with it.

In conclusion, it seems that by teaching children traditional leisure activities and making them understand the adverse consequences of using technology too much, it is possible to prevent health problems triggered by electronic devices as well as dramatic decline in children’s performance at school.