Nowadays most green energy is becoming evermore prevalent in both developed and developing countries. Some argue they greatly reduce costs and are better for the environment, others believe they are a serious threat to energy security. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the modern world renewable energy is one of the most challenging issues. This essay examines whether green power is beneficial for the environment or its contains a considerable threat.

First of all, renewable power sources have proved their sustainability and high efficiency over the last few decades. Solar and water power are not only facilitate a burden for the economy but also able to reduce our carbon footprint. In fact, according to the recent research of the USA government, green energy is 33 per cent cheaper then fossil fuel. Moreover, usage of solar panels and water turbins, as well as biomass energy creates green jobs for citizens. Consequently, green energy is extremely beneficial for governments and their populations. In my opinion, widespread adoption of there resources will positively influence the environment by declining greenhouse gas emission and ensure sustainable development of societies considering the risks of global dependency on burning fuels.

Secondly, threat to a energy security should be considered. Even though renewable sources of energy are widely adopted nowadays, numerous countries still rely on fossil fuel because global switching to alternative sources of enargy can be burdensome for production and the economy in general. For instance, an industrial part has been traditionally dependent on coal. Furthermore, green energy sources are often dependent in weather conditions. For example in the UK solar panels cannot be reliable to produce sustainable amount of energy throughout the year. Therefore, authorities can face significant difficulties on a path of adopting renewable power, as technical issues and challenging environmental conditions. In my opinion, development and implementing of new technologies demand more investments and research to make adopting of green power less risky for the economy.

In conclusion, green sources of energy are undoubtedly beneficial for the environment. They are more affordable than fossil fuels and able to reduce carbon emissions. However, these technologies shall come a long way before they become fully reliable sources of power.