Nowadays most green energy is becoming evermore prevalent in both developed and developing countries. Some argue they greatly reduce costs and are better for the environment, others believe they are a serious threat to energy security. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Climate change has compelled nations to switch to renewable sources of energy. While reducing dependency on non-renewable resources has become a trend in both developing and developed nations, it has also led experts to question the sustainability of this approach. The following paragraphs will present views from both sides and give my opinion on the transition to zero-carbon emission resources for energy needs.

For over two decades, climate activists and the general public have called for faster adaptability of clean energy, which has led policymakers to put more emphasis on promoting and encouraging the use of these resources. One of the arguments given is the availability of these resources, which are unlimited if tapped properly, while the non-renewable resources are limited. For example, solar energy from the sun, wind, sea, and hydroelectricity will be available to us forever, while coal, fossil fuels, etc. are less plentiful, thus inciting wars for control over these resources. Another major reason revolves around the economic and logistic costs involved in harnessing green sources of energy as compared to their counterparts. For example, solar panels, when produced with excellent economies of scale, are much cheaper as compared to mining coal.

Given that switching to zero-carbon emission resources might seem like an obvious step for our species, it has led to people questioning the long-term effects of these steps on energy needs. Many independent studies suggest that while green energy is cheaper to harness, the energy output from these resources is also lower compared to non-renewable resources. Therefore, to meet the same energy output, a huge amount of infrastructure is required, thus elevating the cost and raising questions about the adaptability of these resources. Another argument generally presented is that though solar, wind, and hydro are unlimited, the logistics required to harness them are not. For example, materials used in making solar panels are rare, thus making them less economical from a business point of view.

To conclude, while many believe that we should stick to one sector of energy, I believe making the transition to green resources is the need of the hour. Though challenges will arise during this transition, renewables are in fact the only sound option, both economically and environmentally. While green energy technologies are a threat to energy security, fossil fuels are a greater threat.