Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. Why is this? What effects does this have on society?

In recent times, science courses are becoming less desireable among university students globally. This essay will highlight the reason why this is so, and also shed light on the likely sequelae on society.

The main proponent of this issue is the belief that science is a difficult field. A lot of high-school students are of the opinion that the arts and commercial based courses are much easier to study, with a less rigid career pathway compared to the sciences. These students when inroduced to subjects like physics and chemistry, are worried the concepts might be too abstract or technical. A survey carried out in high schools in Lagos state revealed that 75% of students in secondary schools believe science subjects are too demanding, with most opting for the arts as an alternative. This sheds more light on the reason science is not in high demand in the higher institutions today.

The most relevant effect of this is the eventual lack of skilled workers sooner or later. Science is a field requiring precise skill and technical know how, hence it will be extremely difficult for unskilled labour to fill the gaps in the future. For example, shortage of doctors will be detrimental to the health of the nation as a whole, as the specialist skill needed for diagnosis and allieviation of medical conditions is privy to this particular science related field of study. In addition, a similar effect is inevitable in the field of scientific research and innovation. A marked reduction in the number of scientists, reduces the likelihood of ground-breaking research being done, which in turn hinders humanity from solving some of the pressing issues in today’s world.

To conclude, while science courses have less appeal nowadays, it is imperative the government and relevant stakeholders brainstorm and develop meaningful strategies to combat this pressing issue.