Nowadays some consumers are less influenced by advertising than in the past. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent times, people have dramatically become indifferent toward advertisements. However, in comparison with the past, customers used to be under greater impact of advertisements than nowadays. Many companies ask themselves, ‘What are the reasons for such a discrepancy, and does it favour their popularity and revenue?’ From my perspective, people’s indifferent reaction must not be perceived as criticism or dissatisfaction; it is a tremendous sign for commercial companies, as it may favour not only the product’s demand but also the growth and recognition of companies.

First and foremost, consumers’ attitude toward the presentation of any product is dependent on visual effects and commercial approach. For instance, people in the 1950s were astonished after encountering the very first advertisements elaborated with never-seen effects that attracted thousands, if not millions, of customers. Therefore, an indifferent reaction induces an immediate response, such as a more sophisticated advertisement, which would undoubtedly capture consumers’ imagination.

Moreover, customers’ passive affection toward the advertisements may not only induce improvement in commercial strategies but also convey what people truly desire to see. The majority of commercial managers have a tendency to take into account only the staff’s opinions, and as a result, they overlook more effective ideas how to conquer customers’ attention.

Nevertheless, the reasons for an indifferent attitude and criticism toward the advertisements are rather reasonable than mindless. People have become fatigued of repetitious, obsolete visual effects and eye-tiring ads that only cause the desire to skip them immediately. Undeniably, it is caused by an incorrect commercial approach, which may induce not only customers’ dissatisfaction but also a decline in the product’s interest.

All things considered, an indifferent attitude toward the advertisements does not mean a failure but a vivid sign for an improvement and efficient strategy, which must not be neglected when encountered.