Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? It is negative or a negative development

Nowadays, many employers, when looking for possible candidates, value formal qualifications more highly than life experience or personal qualities. While this approach has some logic and factors, I firmly believe that this is a negative development as it overlooks some critical components of a successful employee.

At first glance, it is understandable why a considerable number of employers rely on qualifications when searching for applicants, namely, to affirm standard knowledge and enhance efficiency. Regarding the former, a formal qualification is typically a confirmation of the candidate’s skills and knowledge, thereby allowing employers to be assured that the candidate is likely to perform well at work and to improve their prospects. This is mostly noticeable with specialized fields such as medicine, law, or engineering, where such qualifications are non-negotiable. Another contributing factor is that such minimum requirements save employers considerable time and resources, since they do not need to invest heavily in training non-academic applicants.

However, I am convinced this trend is negative because it dangerously overlooks the two factors that often determine an employee’s real-world value: practical experience and personal qualities. Firstly, many crucial skills, such as problem-solving under pressure or managing real-world projects, are essential in many workplace environments, yet are mostly not covered in most employees’ 4-5 years of theoretical studies and can only be developed by having hands-on experience. Secondly, this approach also completely ignores the employees’ personal qualities, which are attributes to a person’s success. Qualities like communication, teamwork, resilience, adaptability, and emotional intelligence are not measurable by any type of formal qualifications, yet a candidate lacking those values would still be a liability to the team, whether or not they have a first-class degree. In contrast, someone with strong leadership or creative qualities, like Steve Jobs, might be a far greater asset regardless of their formal education. Failure to consider this complete picture risk losing highly skilled workers and also lessens their potential for a far better long-term development for the company.

Overall, employers’ tendency to favour candidates with qualifications has become increasingly common recently, but while may serve as a good indicator of an employee’s future potential, they should also assess other qualities before coming up with a conclusion.