Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? It is negative or a negative development

In recent years, as a knowledge-based society continues to evolve at a rapid pace, many businesses are more likely to hire staff who have formal academic qualifications. I believe it is a negative trend, and this essay will explain this after discussing why it happens.

Employers usually value formal academic qualifications over life experience or personality because people who have formal qualifications not only possess theoretical knowledge about this aspect but also have many skills for the job, which enables them to have better career prospects. For example, a successful doctor or lawyer needs some formal qualifications. In contrast, people who are full of life experience without knowledge and skills will need a long period to become familiar with the work.

Overemphasizing qualifications can harm both individuals and organizations. Schools focus on theoretical knowledge rather than improving hands-on experience, making students lack soft skills such as communication and critical thinking skills. For example, the traditional learning model only allows learners to develop their knowledge. Besides, it is necessary for employees to have practical skills and life experience for work, but not taught at school. Despite tertiary education’s benefits, it doesn’t provide practical skills, so this alarming trend will ignore many talented individuals without degrees.

In conclusion, employers value good degrees over others because of theoretical knowledge and skills, and it is a negative development since it ignores many soft skills.