Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it positive or negative development?

The comparison between formal academic achievement and practical skills or personal attributes when hiring new staff is always a controversial topic in today’s society. In my opinion, the cause of employers prioritize academic degrees can be considered based on academic knowledge and objective assessment, and I believe that this trend is totally negative.

Academic knowledge and impartial evaluation are the two key reasons why corporations value academic degrees more than real-world experience. First, most recruiters suppose that university graduates have been equipped with in-depth knowledge in each specific field. This ensures that they have solid foundation and necessary skills in order to grasp their tasks quickly and effectively. Second, academic qualifications provide an objective standard of evaluation for comparing and selecting candidates. For example, a student has to devote a lot of time and effort to his or her study in order to get a university qualification, which can somehow prove that this student is a hard-working and persevering person.

In my view, this tendency clearly has negative impacts. Many people having various degrees still face difficulties dealing with their clients because of a lack of soft skills and experience. Life experience helps people to deal with difficult situations more effectively; therefore, without it, work productivity can be reduced significantly. In addition, negative personalities such as dishonesty in the workplace, for example, could pose a serious threat to the development of any companies.

In conclusion, there are various reasons why some employers prefer people with academic qualifications rather than those who only have life experience or good personalities, and I think that it is a negative development.