Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it positive or negative development?

There has been a belief that scholastic credentials are preferable to relevant experiences among job seekers based on the requirements of recruiters. This essay will explore the availability of this thinking before drawing the two key rationales for why this is a debilitating propensity.

The foremost factor influencing this stance is the specific trait of certain fields such as education or medicine. To further explain, workers of these domains, exerting fairly significant impacts on society as a whole, have to gain enough crucial qualifications and degrees to get admittance into a legal workplace. That means, having advanced experiences can not be considered a prerequisite to getting accepted. Furthermore, through formal education and training at qualified academies or schools, it is highly likely that not only the specialized qualifications but also the working attitude of employees are guaranteed. These are qualities appreciated in the professional working environment, particularly in international corporations.

Despite the aforementioned justifications, this argument is not without downsides. Initially, this priority can form a habit of learners to just focus on theoretical knowledge. This is negative because, if only spending time for studying, students might lack valuable skills, citing instances of communication and problem-solving skills, that could be honed through practical experiences in part-time jobs or extracurricular activities. In addition, the reality suggests that the favor of degrees or academic achievements from employers is not for all the case. With the fierce competition in the labor market these days, it is sensible that applicants who can master the assigned tasks more exquisitely might have more opportunities to pass the job and climb up the career ladder in a shorter time compared to their inexperienced counterparts.

In conclusion, while scholastic accomplishments are necessary for building up a solid foundation of knowledge and thinking for people, I am convinced that this is an irrational development regarding the potential shortage of crucial life skills and the pragmatic demand of the majority of employers.