Nowadays some older people choose to live in retirement communities with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development?

These days, elderly generation tend to prefer a life in caring asylums compared to a life with their mature children. While this can be attributed to losing family ties and older people not receiving adequate care, I view this trend positively.

Oftentimes, after people become pensioners they try to leave their relatives in order not to be burden to their kids. For instance, not getting enough pension or a shift in their child’s attitude towards them might trigger this situation, without any choice left they choose to leave to centers specifically designed for elderly. Consequently, bringing about loosened family bonds or even ending it permanently. In addition, whether it be governmental funded or private center not always appropriate care will be given. For instance, only relatives know about their preferences and how to communicate with their older relative. People outside of this circle might not have an empathy towards and be ready to help them when it will be necessary.

On the other hand, older people are more susceptible to get bored faster, and making a use of asylum facilities will help to alleviate this boredom. To demonstrate, most of the centers have amenities like for sports, creative and mental activities, such as crocheting classes or chess clubs, allowing people to spend their time effectively. As well as that having a company of their peers gives them an opportunity to be better understood. It is much easier to have a mutual understanding among older generation compared to other age brackets.

To illustrate, it is a commonplace to come across certain age related diseases after reaching a pension age, in this case some people may have already underwent certain illness and can provide basic advices to avoid confusion among other patients.

In conclusion, the choice of leaving home often comes from a change in their relatives’ behavior and avoiding being a burden on them. Although this problem can be solved to some extent, I believe this preference is positive as it can help them to spend time doing engaging activities among people who are more likely to understand them.