Nowadays some older people choose to live in retirement communities with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary world, the elderly citizens decide to stay in the nursing home instead of living with their offspring. In my opinion, living in an old age home is positive because it will be relieved from stress for their kids in a busy life.

To begin, the senior citizens live in care home, which will become independent and improve their mental health. Nowadays, the new generations are engaged with their work life. So, they will move to different places for their bright career. In these circumstances, the parents face the problem of” empty nest,” and it leads to depression and anxiety. In this case, live-in homes are the best solution for older people because they can socialise with other residence and engage in other activities. For instance, a report published by SJD reveals that older individuals with mental illness have drastic changes in their moods when they stay in centres.

On the other hand, the senior living in the long-term in care centres give a relief for their children who live in abroad. The care home has facilities professionals like doctors services,nurses,social workers, and carers. They can make sure the safety and well-being of their parents. There is an article by UNC Newspaper published that parents in European countries rely on retirement home and they are happy to live. Also, they can balance life with their own and their children.

In conclusion, retirement home plays a vital role in the old people after their retirement. In the market of old age home there is positive and negative side. However, choose the care home wisely and flourish the life of senior citizens in their retirement life.