Nowadays the youth often suffers from peer pressure. The disadvantages outweigh the advantages because while positive peer influence can foster growth, negative pressure can lead to the formation of harmful habits and dependent behavior.

In recent years, young individiduals are frequently affected by the actions of other young people, a phenomenon known as “peer pressure”. I personally believe that drawbacks of this trend outweigh its benefits, as peer pressure may encourage teenagers to engage in unhealthy habits such as smoking or skipping school.

First of all, one of main disadvantages is that adolescents join a harmful gangs due to sense of belonging and social conformity. Such situations can give rise to a wide range of detrimental consequences, including substance abuse or juvenile delinquency. Furthermore, as a result, young people may face mental health issues, such as low-self esteem, loss of individuality, and succumb to pressure. For example, in the last decade, suicide range among adolescents in Latin American countries have increased significantly due to mental health issues and involvement in harmful activities. Moreover, numerous hardworking students suffer from academic decline because of the negative influence of their peers’ behaviour.

On the other hand, peer pressure can serve as positive reinforcement by encouraging academic achievement. For instance, when students engage in healthy competition, they are often motivated to improve their academic performance, while simultaneously devoloping essential social skills such as effective communication.

In conclusion, although peer pressure can sometimes promote healthy competition and academic achievement, its negative effects, including mental health problem or academic decline outweigh its advantages.