Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think that it is harmful to individuals and society. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

With the widespread adoption of media, there are more and more undesirable news being reported frequently with positive counterparts. Thus, this sparks a debate if this phenomenon causes harm to an ordinary person and the globe. From my perspective, I believe it does affect an individual to be more careful, however, it also results in society’s regression.

Overemphasis on suffering may encourage individuals to pay more attention to dangerous circumstances around their surroundings. Media provides a vast range of diverse reports to the readers, especially emergencies, which might be considered as an alert to the users globally. Then, people will be given opportunities to prevent being harmed in their daily lives. As can be seen in one of the most popular online newspapers called BBC, which has produced several warning reports related to the war between Iran and Israel, allowing travellers to take notice of their decisions of upcoming destinations.

However, paying attention too much to bad news might also lead to some inconvenience for a country, particularly in its decrease in development. A nation will certainly be less appealing and more difficult to attract tourists if there is too much harmful information about it. Because there will not be any travellers who want to approach such a dangerous country, they have to search carefully before deciding on an upcoming destination. For instance, India is recognised as one of the most risky nations due to being recorded on many problems, such as ravishment, deception or killing. This brings significant concerns not only for the residents who live nearby but also for the tourists considering visiting, which remarkably negatively declines the Indian tourism economy.

To conclude, in light of the announcement that those negative reports provide for each person, I agree that problems and emergencies do play an important role in ordinary citizens. Nevertheless, overcovering it still has some potential disadvantages to society, specifically for each country’s improvement.