Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think that it is harmful to individuals and society. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In this era of modernization, the proliferation of news reporting about negative issues and emergencies rather than positive social aspects has been a perennial debate. While it is widely contended that this phenomenon can do a disservice to individuals and society, I partly agree with this viewpoint for the following reasons.

On the one hand, there are several rationales supporting the drawbacks that negative news report brings about. In the first place, it is the mental health of people that is adversely affected due to negative media content. In fact, the dissemination of negative news provides people with gloomy outlooks of the world, resulting in incessant anxiety and the lack of motivation. To illustrate, appalling pieces of news such as environmental problems or state of the economy act as a determinant of people’s worries and sense of insecurity, putting people under a great deal of strain. Secondly, negative content promoted on media platforms may also wreak havoc on businesses. This is because shocking news about the credits of cooperations, which tends to be blown out of proportion, can cast doubts on people, ultimately ruining their reputation while declining the number of clients and revenues.

On the other hand, the benefits of promoting negative content and emergencies on media platforms are irrefutable. First and foremost, this approach enables viewers to be alert about the current situation of this dynamic society. In doing so, viewers will be able to brace themselves for any emergencies namely environmental disasters or perils of crimes, therefore securing their safety. Another positive impact of the focus on issues and emergencies on the media is the enhanced awareness among citizens. In actuality, there are a host of burning issues requiring immediate attention and measures such as global warming. As a result, the promotion of such problems enables people to acknowledge the seriousness of the issue, encouraging them to take action to come up with the most effective solutions.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that despite the glaring disadvantages of promoting negative news on the media, there are still several positive aspects of this approach. Hence, it is advisable that negative news be promoted in moderation instead of coming out in excessive degree.