Nowadays, there is an increase in social problems including teenagers. Many people think that it is because parents spend more time at work and less time with children. Do you agree or disagree?

Youngsters are involved in many anti-social activities. Some people argue that these days many parents spent most of their time at work, rather than spending time with their children which this has led to an escalation in societal problems. I disagree with this perspective, as many other factors contribute more significantly to this problem.

One of the main reasons for this increase is economic issues. Young people from poor families, may seek easier methods to earn money, which would result in social crimes. For instance, there are many cases, where youngsters joined illegal gangs such as smugglers to earn money. Additionally, peer pressure also force youngsters to be involved in unethical activities. They may get involved in these for mere pleasure. For example, there was an incident in my hometown, where a man was stabbed to death due to a dispute in gaming scores.

Another important factor is substance abuse. Nowadays drugs are easily available, which make youngsters to do many criminal activities like theft. For instance, a study has reported that many cases of violence are done by people using harmful drugs like cocaine. Moreover, individuals facing mental health issues can also cause anti-social problems. Those having depression and anxiety are more prone to be involved in these criminal activities. For instance, I have read an article about a man who became serial killer due to depression.

In conclusion, although lack of parental attention can make youngsters to be involved in crime, I believe that other factors such as economical issues, peer pressure, substance abuse and mental health issues contribute more to this.