Nowadays we have become a throwaway society with where it is common to throw away devices and gadgets instead of repairing them. Why is this happening and what are the effects of this?

It is an incontestable fact that it is increasingly common for people to buy new things frequently due to which the proliferation of single-use products is a major concern for all countries. Indeed, the major contributor to this throwaway society is the seductive commercials and accessibility, which ultimately lead to environmental degradation.

Commencing with the most conspicuous reason for increased consumerism, companies employ persuasive techniques to create a culture of constant consumption, encouraging individuals to buy the latest products and discard older ones. To epitome, each year, companies introduce a fresh model of smartphones and despite having similar functionalities to their predecessors, individuals are enticed by the promotions that are being stimulated by famous personalities and make purchases. Moreover, in today’s fast-paced world, the hectic schedules and demanding responsibilities of individuals have created a compulsive need for convenience. With limited time available, people find it increasingly challenging to allocate precious moments to fix malfunctioning items. The sheer ease and accessibility of purchasing new goods, often just a few clicks away in the era of online shopping, cause unnecessary purchasing whether or not it is an electronic device.

However, from my perspective, the prevailing trend of excessive production and disposal of goods poses a grave environmental threat. This overproduction leads to the rapid depletion of our precious natural resources, exemplified by the widespread chopping of trees for various household items. If this trend continues, it will inevitably lead to the further destruction of our forests. Additionally, when products are discarded, they contribute to the mounting issue of either waste accumulation or pollution. Many consumer goods contain components that cannot be recycled, persisting in the environment indefinitely. This unwitting disposal of goods is resulting in significant and long-lasting damage to our environment.

To summarize, even though the practice of acquiring new items regularly is on the rise because of irresistible advertisements and convenience, I rigorously insist the disposable culture is posing devastating impacts on Mother Nature such as contamination.