One result of advances in medical care is that life expectancy has increased around the world. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Many decades ago, people lived less as compared to now because of the lack of proper medical care and advanced technology to combat diseases. Apart from the technological aspects, people in the olden days found it difficult to access hospitals where they lived which made it difficult in times of emergency. Nowadays, due to advanced in medical care, live expectancy has significantly increased globally. There are advantages as well as disadvantages of this development.

One of the greatest advantages is that new drugs or medicines have been discovered to counter certain chronic diseases such as cancer, arthritis and diabetes. With these new discoveries, it is now easy to suppress the increasing levels to which a disease used to affect the well-being of a patient. Another advantage is the progress in technology used during surgeries to ensure minimum inconvenience to patients. Nowadays, countless many state-of-the-art hospitals and medical care centres are available that provide the best medical assistance. Moreover, the government has been taking manny steps to ensure people in rural areas and those who are below poverty line are guaranteed medical attention when they are in need. An example of this is the actions taken by the government of India. In India, the ministry of health has been issuing Ayushman Bharat heath cards to ensure the citizens in need of instant medical attention can undergo surgeries without paying a penny to the doctors as the cost is covered by the government. Apart from the health benefits, the Government of India had inaugurated medical care centres in rural pockets of the country to provide basic medical facilities for any emergency situations.

While talking about the advantages, it is also crucial to discuss the disadvantages of the medical advancements. One huge problem that many middle-class or lower middle-class people face is the cost that they have to bear in order to get even the smallest of the surgeries done. The doctors sometimes aggravate this situation by asking they to pay for unnecessary tests or medicines, without the innocent patients’ knowledge. Another demerit is that such technologies for major surgeries and critical care units are only available in major cities in some countries. This also limits the extent to which hospitals people would prefer to visit barring the medical care costs.

To conclude, there are more merits than demerits in advancements in medical care. Although the costs may not favour all, one should aim to look for light at the end of the tunnel, ignoring the costs at which the medical care is being provided and think towards the well being of themselves and their loved ones.