Online education and training is becoming increasingly popular in the business world. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The increasing interest in digital technology is growing exponentially, particularly in the business sector where companies across the globe are capitalizing on remote training to keep their workforce updated. As with anything new, there will always be ongoing discussions regarding the uniqueness of this development. Personally, I believe that trying to find a balance between technology and traditional systems is the most effective strategy.

One of the main reasons that are facilitating the movement away from traditional training programs is the e-learning cost benefits. Unlike e-learning, traditional face-to-face interactions require spending on travel and time away from work, which can be a lot. With online classes, everything is more cost effective. Training sessions can be conducted without considering the geographical location of the trainer or the employees. It also helps in eliminating interruptions to working schedules. Considering the adoption of digital learning from an economic perspective, it seems to be an easy decision to make.

Regardless, research suggests that the effectiveness of web-based courses is inadequately served in comparison to classroom training. While web-based modules can aid in learning, replacing in person instruction entirely is a position many professionals oppose as there is so much value in interaction made within a learning environment.