ou should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is a common as well as applaudible effort by the governments of developed countries to provide unemployment benefits to job seekers. The recipients of these benefits however, do have a moral responsibility to return the favor. I am a proponent of this view and deem it suitable to strike a balance between the giver and the receiver.

In order to keep a community running smoothly it is essential that all members of the society contribute towards this goal. When the government provides relief to long- term job seekers, it does so by providing certain additional aids to the low income households. For instance, in welfare countries, monetary social assistance, reduced fare for travelling, special low rent accomodations and food stamps are given by the government to unemployed individuals to fulfill their monthly needs until they receive a job offer. This relief in reality is being provided by the tax paying counter parts of the country who are working diligently to contribute to the economy and stability of the country.

I believe, there are plenty of people who would agree that in return for all these benefits, the unemployed members of the society should perform voluntary tasks such as, voluntaring twice a week at the old age centres. This would act as their part put into the community, for example, a friend of mine used to volunteer as a school lunch lady while she was struggling to find a job. Furthermore, it builds a sense of resonsibilty rather than entitlement in the struggling invidual.

Additionally, it acts as a morale booster for job seekers as many might fall into depression at not being able to procure a job. This also eliminates any feeling of discord among the working members of the society that these individuals are only at the receiving end of the benefits.