Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to alter our character traits to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common saying that “It is not the name or fame of a person but his/her personality and character which defines true identity”. Many believe that personality is not something a person can develop rather it is controlled by genes that he/she received even before birth. Further, the essay will be highlighting reasons and examples to partially support the claim.

There are many factors that contribute to defining a person’s complete personality. For example, his/her facial characteristics, walking style, manner in which he/she addresses others, all are equally contributing aspects of personality. Some of these factors like, facial characteristics or walking style are acquired from genes. As these genes are inherited from parents, there is nothing a person can do to alter personality traits that depend on them. Along with facial characteristics, voice, body figure also belong to in-changeable traits of personality.

On the other hand, speaking habits, table etiquettes or dressing sense, which are integral parts of personality, can be learned and developed with experience. These type of personality traits are not acquired via genes and with willingness to alter, a person can improve them. Industries like, Fashion industry or bodybuilding industry are filled with countless examples of people who might be having relatively weaker genes, with respect to their industry, but with strong determination, have made their non-hereditary personality traits overpowered others and carved their path to success.

To sum it up, I would like to highlight that we can neither completely agree nor disagree with the statement there are many factors that equally contribute towards building overall personality, some of them are inherited from parents while others are cultivated. Traits like facial features or skin color are received from genes while on the other hand traits like, dressing sense, table etiquettes are learned and developed with experience.