overfishing of the world's oceans threatens many species of with extinction and is putting the livelihood of millions of people around the world at risk. What are the causes of this problem and what can be done to prevent it from happening?

Many ocean species are facing extinction due to overfishing. This might put a lot of people’s livelihood in jeopardy.This might be caused by the demand rising to align with the population growth as well the fisherman’s lack of fishing management.

Firstly, the population is growing rapidly throughout the years causing increasing demand for ocean species, especially fishes. Many people seek for easier protein sources, hence, the rising demand of ocean fishes causing scarcity of it. This could be solved by maintaining regulation in fishing by limiting the quantity and variety of the species that can be fished and consumed.

Secondly, fishermen’s lack of fishing management of one another can also be causing the limitation of ocean species. This could be prevented by tightening the management within the fishermen on the time to fish and the proper amount of the fish that can be taken. The type of the fish can also be the reason for the limitation of ocean species, for example, fish carrying eggs should have been set free if they catch one, so the ecosystem of the ocean could continue to grow.

In conclusion, the solutions to the overfishing problem might be rooted in how humans protect nature by always trying to nurture it more so the ecosystem of the sea remains in balance. Regulation plays a high role in this matter, as it will not only maintain limitation of the quantity of fish that can be consumed by humans but also manage time and number of fish to be the guidance for the fishermen.