Overpopulation in many urban centres around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

It is true that the increased number of citizens on our planet has become a huge issue. This is mostly related to an enhanced level of healthcare all over the globe. Some possible ways to tackle this problem include creating facilities in rural areas for people to choose them over urban ones.

The healthier human beings are, the longer they tend to live, and life expectancy, which is a direct indicator of a human’s well-being, has increased in recent years due to a decrease in cases of illnesses. Indeed, with advancements in medicine, all old-fashioned and inefficient treating techniques are being replaced with more quality ways of taking care of people’s health. For example, surgeries conducted in the Middle Ages had considerably more lethal outcomes because of poor disinfecting practices. Thus, more current medical knowledge has served individuals’ living longer, which, in the long turn, leads to overpopulation.

Cities are considered to have high living standards, and that is why they are becoming more densely-populated, with people flocking there in search of a better life. To make urban centers less appealing, governments should improve living conditions in rural zones. This could be made by relocating or opening the most demanded amenities in those areas. New companies and factories offering thousands of vocations, for instance, could be launched in suburban regions. As a result, more working class would move with their families from cities, eventually reducing the number of urban citizens.

In conclusion, better conditions to inhabit make people, especially city dwellers who have access to more facilities, live longer. The issue of having too many residents can be tackled by modernizing rural settings for people to move in.