Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify two serious ones and suggest ways that the government and individuals can tackle these problems.

Each day, cities and developing areas witness influx of people which has led to increase in the numbers of inhabitants. There are many problems associated with the rise in the numbers of people living in a particular geographical location such as unemployment and inadequate supply of basic social amenities. This easy will consider these problems and also look into possible solutions.

One major disadvantage of overly populated areas is the lack of employment. This is because, as people migrate to cities to look for greener pastures, job opportunities gradually decline since the few available vacancies are being occupied already. Also, people who are already employed will not like to lose their jobs but do all the can to maintain it. Therefore, as a lot of people are unemployed in the cities, they resort to social vices such as kidnapping, prostitution, drugs abuse and robbery in other to survive. So, lack of many job opportunities is a problem of densely populated places.

Another bad thing that happens because of too many people living in cities is lack of social amenities. For example, the rate of people using public borehole will really affect how water is pumped. Pumping water that will be enough for the general population will require additional expenses, thereby bringing extra burden on the government. Moreover, it will also increase the cost of maintenance.

To alleviate these stress, governments and well meaning individuals need to discourage traveling to industrialized regions. To do that, government need to ensure that work opportunities are made available for every citizens irrespective of where a person is living. If people are employed where they are living, the idea of traveling to the city in search of a work will be reduced. Government too have to provide basic social amenities for all. If the citizens enjoy social amenities in the rural areas, the rate of traveling to urban areas to increase the numbers of people living there will be reduced.

While there are many problems that come as a result of increase in population including unemployment and insufficient amenities, government and individuals can arrest these menace if there are job openings and provision of amenities for all.