Parents are the best teachers. Do you agree or disagree?

For many years, parents have been role models for their children, which is why many people believe that parental guidance is an essential aspect in everybody’s lifespan, especially for the younger generation. While I believe parents are essential for character development, I acknowledge that professional teachers are necessary for academic success.

Nearly all parents teach their kids from their initial years about everything they should know, such as manners, morality, and the values of a certain family, meaning parents are often examples of how the young generation should conduct themselves. This philosophy is not entirely new, as parents have always been associated with the first and one of the best teachers in individuals’ lives. Thus, it is reasonable that we, as a society, learn the ropes of our character, personality, and habits from our biological teachers. Take a particular person as an example who was brought up with parents who are kind, trustworthy, and responsible. In this case, the kid is highly likely to be as good as his parents, whereas another person could be raised without parental guidance, so it is highly likely for him to be irresponsible, envious, and inexperienced in life.

On the one hand, parents might not be able to replace all teachers, especially when it comes to academic study. When only parents guide young people, it can lead to some negative consequences such as a lack of academic learning, like science, mathematics, financial accounting, and so on. This is particularly true in countries such as Afghanistan, where there are not many professional teachers, so parents are the only ones from whom students can study. In fact, Afghanistan is known as one of the developing countries lagging behind due to a lack of academic education, which can impact youngsters’ intelligence.

On the other hand, parents also cannot be substituted by professional teachers, as many experts are not able to give enough love, support, and practical lessons as parents do. Parental caregiving is crucial for students’ productivity and willingness to study more, as caregivers know exactly the children’s weaknesses and strengths because they interact with them since their childhood.

In conclusion, parents are the most influential and one of the best teachers alongside academic learning. This balance can showcase a great positive impact on young people’s lives.