Part 2: In many countries, more and more people want to study at universities. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The number of people who want to get a degree at university is rising in many countries,

mainly because of the increase of access to education and career prospects. In my opinion, this is surely a positive development for several key reasons.

Universities and colleges are appealing more and more undergraduates because they offer opportunities to career growth, while being accessible in many countries. Nowadays, a lot of employers require qualification from employees, thus people start striving to pursue higher education to get a well-paid job. For example, in fields, such as law and medicine, a university degree is compulsory for all employees. Without these requirements, workers might be unprofessional, which is why the quality of service can be negatively affected.

I fully understand that there is a view that education at university is not necessary to get a good job, since there is a plenty of online courses, where people can acquire a certificate. However, I believe that these courses are not suitable for all professions because certificates are not sufficient for some jobs, which require accuracy. By the increase of people’s desire to study at university, many other fields develop by getting appropriately educated professionals. This results in the improving quality of hospitals, better school education and etc.

In conclusion, even though some people might claim that qualification is not needed for working and succeeding in life, I largely believe that it’s a positive development because of the improvements in many aspects of humans’ life, like medicine, law and education.