People after retirement often require financial assistance. Some think the government should be responsible for this, while others believe individuals should make provisions for themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been a rising debate in the recent years with some people and I believe that those who have retired should be financially supported by the government because they all paid tax when they were working in their younger age(s), whilst some say that they should make their own provisions since they have already been served by the public services run by their own money.

Those that support the idea of retired people should get financial assistance from the government have pointed out that everybody does not spend their whole youth lives working hard and pay an enormous amount of tax just to work harder on figuring out how to support their needs in the old ages. Many people spend their whole lives studying and working without having any minutes of true relaxation, they have too many things to worry about and paying taxes is one of them. Taxes are used to fund public services and facilities including support retirees that are no longer able to afford all of their needs. The nation has been served by them for decades, therefore, supporting them financially in their old ages is reasonable.

Whilst the other side supporters say that people’s taxes are not spent wastefully, it is used to run public services which have already served the taxpayers during their whole life growing up and working. Everybody benefits from social insurance, education, healthcare services, etc in their lifetime, which get funded by taxes. Therefore, people putting some money from their salary to pay it back to the government is understandable. Then when it comes to their old ages, they have no responsibility to the authorities and neither do they.

In conclusion, while it is true that individuals should really prepare for their later years, I strongly believe that governments should also support retired people because supporting all citizens is a crucial role for governments.